How Can I Be A “Racist” If I Bring Pictures Of Black Women As Inspiration To My Plastic Surgeon?

10/17/2020

Because of my strong personality I am often at the receiving end of absurd accusations. The latest one has me rolling my eyes.

Someone recently approached me and mentioned that they found some of my comments to be a bit off-putting and insensitive. Can you believe that?

However, I know that I cannot possibly be a racist because I have a hefty stack of "inspiration" photos for my plastic surgery team and most of these are snaps of Black women (or white women who have drastically cosmetically altered their appearances). While I spent my childhood looking down upon anyone who didn't embody Western beauty/physical ideals, I have now come to the realization that I can enjoy all of the perks of certain attributes with none of the accompanying discrimination. Negative biases are for other people, not me.

Oh, what, now I'm "appropriating" features that women of color have historically been mocked for? Please. I don't have time to research this at all, I'm late for my mani-pedi. 

I suppose the fact that I liberally apply tanner and wear Bantu knots on social media is "problematic" too? So silly.

Grow up.

Create your website for free! This website was made with Webnode. Create your own for free today! Get started