Why I Submit To My Husband (And You Should Too)

09/27/2020

Marriage takes work. As a Christian household, we adhere to a traditional value system...except when it comes to things like plastic surgery, because only God can judge when it comes to my life and actions, you know? This viewpoint doesn't keep me from judging others though!

One thing I really prioritize is my husband's happiness. In life, in the bedroom and in all aspects of our interwoven dynamic. I make it a point to insist our cook make meals catered to Gregory's preferences, even though all of our kids are allergic to dairy and this usually means that we have to order a separate meal for the kiddos. Haha. It's fine!

The key is to expect him to submit to you too. See, too many women hear "submit to his will" and just assume I am some brainless Stepford wife, trapped in the chains of misogynistic and sexist gender standards. But they don't understand my husband and I are actually equals.

When I want to do something, I ask my husband's permission. 

For example, he called me a few days ago to tell me that he was going to be going to a colleague's bachelor party. While he didn't phrase it like a question, I knew that he was checking in to ensure it was okay with me.

I simply told him I wasn't comfortable with that! And then he told me not to be a nag and hung up. But that incident reminded me that I shouldn't be keeping him from experiencing joy with his friends. There is always room for more growth.

Oddly enough, I actually can't think of a single time that he has asked for my permission to do something. Weird. 

Do you submit to your husband? Are you ever forced to defend this to your non-Christian-living friends (they are probably jealous anyway, right)?

Create your website for free! This website was made with Webnode. Create your own for free today! Get started