Are “Food Desserts” Merely A Politically-Motivated Lie To Excuse The Poor Habits Of Lazy People?

10/24/2020

I recently skimmed the headline of an article about how "food desserts" are keeping rural and poor communities from accessing fresh produce. But how could this possibly be true?

If we can have organic, locally-grown fruits and vegetables in our farmers markets in a wealthy small town every Sunday, why can't other places? We also have a frequently-stocked grocery boutique on every other block in our downtown area. My none of my assistants have never mentioned how much my household spends on food. So I'm guessing it's very affordable. 

It's completely doable for our community, so why should widespread poverty, misinformation about nutrition and hesitancy from corporations about expanding to new areas factor in at all for other places? It doesn't make any sense to me personally, so it must be a lie put forth by the communist liberal media elite, right?

Beyond that, I think it's actually a tactic to make lazy people feel less responsible for their own gross eating habits. #NoExcuses 

Create your website for free! This website was made with Webnode. Create your own for free today! Get started