Why Live In A Big, Expensive City When You Could Live In A Small Town Instead?

09/28/2020

A friend of mine recently called me up to complain about her rent being hiked up, in the middle of a pandemic "crisis" (don't even get me started, God is protecting his children better than masks ever could).

I asked her what the appeal of living in her current city was. Her tech job. So materialistic.

Rolling my eyes at her, I told her that there was more to life than money. And then she had the nerve to point out that I hadn't had a real job in over ten years-I guess she doesn't consider my former Etsy shop and my now-defunct part-time jewelry-crafting business "work"-and that both of my "real" positions had been handed to me by my parents. Then she mentioned I was sitting on a hefty trust fund from my maternal grandparents and an impressive stock portfolio from my paternal grandparents and I had married a fabulously wealthy man. And that wasn't what we were talking about. Deflection is a sign of a bad heart and soul.

Many silly people choose to reside in famous cities, struggling to pay their rent and bills, rather than moving out to the middle of nowhere, where they could buy a sizeable house for a fraction of the price. Would the daily commute be rough? Uh, possibly? Couldn't they just find something else to do though? I haven't seen any "applicants wanted" signs in up-and-coming (or even currently-relevant) industries, but you never know.

Our area has a bit of a checkered past when it comes to racial tension, but I rarely see people of color in my neighborhood at all so I guess they have just all opted to move into another part of town or something of their own accord? 

Must be a coincidence and not at all tied to discriminatory practices by banks, which historically have been used as a tool to prevent certain individuals from being able to purchase a house in a safe, thriving neighborhood. 

Anyway, the number one argument I hear is that small town life is "boring". But it's not, really. There are plenty of weekly church activities-as long as you attend our church-and the Friday night football game at the local high school is a must-attend event. We even have two okay-to-good restaurants now! 

Oh and don't forget that friendly, well-earned "charm"! As long as your lifestyle adheres strictly to local cultural norm, that is. 

Create your website for free! This website was made with Webnode. Create your own for free today! Get started