Why I'm Still Breastfeeding My Seven Year Old Twins

09/26/2020

Breastfeeding is a beautiful bonding activity. I just adore the feeling! Which, in turn, makes it even easier for me to harshly judge women who are unable-or even unwilling to-to breastfeed their precious babies. Some have to return to work immediately, because they are unprotected by local laws and cannot afford to take time off without jeopardizing their livelihood. Others experience nonstop pain and discomfort when attempting to nourish their little ones. So selfish.

Most importantly though, it burns a lot of calories. Plus, it allows me to connect emotionally with all four of my kids, without having to interact with them on a regular basis or listen to their boring stories. Why is it my responsibility to build a relationship with them? Prioritizing my emotions over theirs is a vital component of my self-care mindset, in general. 

Truth be told, it is a bit of battle to get the older children to breastfeed now. They are embarrassed and uncomfortable, but I power through because I have made breastfeeding a cause in my life and my friends are in awe of my commitment, I'm sure.

How lovely is it to know that your kids are forced to rely on your body, even though they are more than capable of receiving the nutrients they need from food?

Create your website for free! This website was made with Webnode. Create your own for free today! Get started