How Faith Has Gotten Me Through Tough Times

09/29/2020

Church has always been a comforting place for me. The community's love envelopes me every time I need it to.

I firmly believe that my faith is the catalyst to my success and happiness.

Trust that God has a plan. 

I have wasted countless hours of my life worrying. And to what end? Stepping back, praying and trusting in Him is key.

This mantra also gets me off the hook when it comes to actually taking action to help others, too. Volunteering or donating? No thanks, if God wanted those disadvantaged kids to have a better life, he would have made it happen, you know? He is powerful!

Don't Forget His Words.

A few years ago, I had a custom decorative Bible quote made, so I could hang it in my living room, to always remind me to praise him and to believe in him. It was quite expensive, so you know it must matter to me.

"For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life." - John 3:16

I chose this quote because, let's be honest, it is popular and it holds true.
Plus, despite the fact that I flaunt my faith all the time, I haven't actually sat down and read the Bible cover to cover. Not even once! But throwing this one out there makes me seem religious. 

Spread The Love.

Being Christian means different things to different people. But to me (and people in my local community), it means being heterosexual, white* and having the ability to use your faith as a justification to live your life however you want, while not extending this same privilege to others.

How has Jesus changed your course?

*Now, this isn't a hard and fast rule, but the fact that Jesus was not White and shouldn't be portrayed as such hasn't stopped me, nor my church, from continuing to push this false narrative.

Create your website for free! This website was made with Webnode. Create your own for free today! Get started